News & events


10 July 2017

Transformation Oversight Committee expanded to 10 members

Times Live

Higher Education Minister Blade Nzimande has increased from seven to 10 the number of members of the Ministerial Oversight Committee on the Transformation in the South African Public Universities.

The announcement comes just months after President Jacob Zuma signed the Higher Education Amendment Act into law. The Act gives the minister of higher education expanded authority to intervene in the process of transforming the institutions of higher learning.

New committee members are Prof Christine Winberg from Cape Peninsula University of Technology‚ Human Sciences Research Council CEO Prof Crain Soudien‚ Prof Pamela Maseko of Rhodes University and Prof Kopano Ratele of the University of South Africa.

Read the full article online.

Times Live

Related Articles