# REC Members Term of Office from 1 November 2021 until 31 October 2024

#### **External HSRC members**

Prof Ames Dhai – chairperson (Capacity – Biomedical, Social Science and Ethics)

Prof Peter Nyasulu (Capacity – Biomedical, Biostatistics, Public Health, Epidemiology, Ethics)

Dr Shenuka Singh (Capacity – Dentistry, Biomedical, Ethics)

Prof Ann Strode (Capacity – Legal, Children's Rights)

Prof Warren Freedman (Capacity – Law)

Ms Thandi Kekana (Capacity – Community Representative)

Ms Anisa Keshav (Capacity – Community Representative)

Dr Aslam Sathar (Capacity - Physiology and Microbiology)

Dr Rebone Maboa (Capacity - Health and medical field, clinical research, and occupational health medicine)

Dr Bongile Mabilane (Capacity – Biomedical, Public Health, Ethics)

### REC Members Term of Office from 30 June 203 until 30 June 2026

### Internal HSRC members

**Centre for Science, Technology, and Innovation Indicators (CeSTII)** Dr II-haam Petersen (Capacity – Sociology)

Dr Amy Khan (Capacity – Economics)

### **Equitable Education and Economies (EEE)**

Dr Andrea Juan (Capacity – Policy and Development Studies) Dr Adam Cooper (Capacity – Education Policy Studies, with Commonwealth Split-site) Dr Bongiwe Mncwango (Capacity – Sociology)

### Africa Institute of South Africa (AISA)

Dr Rodney Managa (Capacity – Agriculture, Horticultural Science) Dr Nomcebo Ubisi (Capacity – Food Security, Agriculture and Climate change)

### Public Health, Societies and Belonging (PHSB)

Prof Sibusiso Sifunda (Capacity – Epidemiology, Biostatics and Public Health) Dr Allanise Cloete (Capacity – Anthropology focusing on stigma and discrimination)

# Developmental, Capable and Ethical State (DCES)

Ms Diana Sanchez Betancourt (Capacity – Social Sciences, Peace and Conflict Studies) Dr Mathias Alubafi (Capacity – Higher Education and Training)

### Impact Center (IC)

Dr Mercy Ngungu (Capacity – Data Scientist, mathematical statistics, and technology) Dr Lorenza Fluks (Capacity – Psychology)